Getting started with Photon and NCD 10 amp relay

I will start off like many others. I am really new to this. I am trying to find info on controlling the relay with a schedule, but am not having much luck. The end goal is to be able to set the relay to momentary for several scheduled times/day, but for now I would just settle for getting the photon set up to run one schedule just to see it work. Any suggestions on where to start?

Hi,

If you want to do this with a Particle interface board then as luck would have it I wrote an article about it here:

If you have any questions on this please let me know.
Thank you,
Travis Elliott

1 Like

Thanks @Travis. I did find this yesterday after I posted this. I had a few issues adapting it to the Particle interface 1 relay board, but I think I may have figured it out. However, when I went to Mobicle.io, the site would not load, so I have not been able to test my work. I noticed there is a thread on here now asking if Mobicle.io has been discontinued.

Hi,

Mobicle is back online now.

Hello. I had to step away from this program for a while and am just now getting back to it. I have modified the Time schedule activated Particle Photon relay controller app to work with NCD1Relay instead of the 8-relay shield. I changed the executeCommand to only have on, off, and toggle shown below:

void executeCommand(int commandID, int commandData){
    switch(commandID){
        case 0:
            //Turn On Relay
            controller.turnOnRelay();
            break;
        case 1:
            //Turn Off Relay
            controller.turnOffRelay();
            break;
        case 2:
            //Toggle Relay
            controller.toggleRelay();
            break;    

}