Add Remote and LEDs to 2-Channel High-Power Relay Controller Shield

Hi all,

I am new to this whole IoT world, but I purchased a 2-Channel High-Power Relay Controller Shield + 6 GPIO with IoT Interface plus a Photon so I can remotely turn on and off my compressor and dust collector in my wood shop. I have it all working with custom code I wrote for the particle. I control it from IFTT and my Echo calling the custom functions I wrote. This is works great. BUT, I really want to add a Key Fob or remote, because turning OFF the dust collector is difficult, because I am usually far from the Echo, and it gets loud in the shop.

I am coming up a bit clueless on how to setup a remote. What do I need to purchase, and what are the basic steps to get started ?

Also, I want to put the Relay in an enclosure, but would love to add 2 LEDs to the outside that come in with the relays. I assume I would add code to control two of the GPIO pins, but I can’t seem to get that to work. They all seem to always be +5V.

// This #include statement was automatically added by the Particle IDE.
#include <NCD2Relay.h>
NCD2Relay relayController;

int led1 = D0;
int led2 = D7;
int onValue=1;
int offValue=0;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(115200);
relayController.setAddress(0,0,0);

Particle.publish("Controller","Started",60,PUBLIC);

Particle.variable("compressorOn", &offValue, INT);
Particle.variable("dustOn", &offValue, INT);

Particle.function("turnOnComp",turnOnComp);
Particle.function("turnOffComp",turnOffComp);
Particle.function("turnOnDust",turnOnDust);
Particle.function("turnOffDust",turnOffDust);
Particle.function("turnOffAll",turnOffAll);

turnOffComp("off");
turnOffDust("off");

pinMode(D0, OUTPUT);
pinMode(D5, OUTPUT);

}

void loop() {
}

int turnOnComp(String command) {
relayController.turnOnRelay(1);
Particle.publish(“Compressor”,“ON”,60,PUBLIC);
Particle.variable(“compressorOn”, &onValue);
digitalWrite(D0, HIGH);

return 1;

}

int turnOffComp(String command) {