Modem and gateway behavior questions

I am new to the NCD.io sensors and have been evaluating the hardware to see if it fits our needs. I have a few questions regarding both software and hardware. For any of the questions, please correct me if I am wrong in the understanding.

• I see network/PAN id used in what appears to be interchangeably in documentation. It is the same thing, correct?

• When a sensor is in configuration mode, it switches to network/PAN id 7BCD. To then configure that sensor, the wireless modem needs to be on that PAN id as well to configure it. Given that, if a sensor is in configuration mode and you are wanting to configure it via the modem then other sensors that are deployed wouldn’t be able to send their data to the modem while it is on that PAN id reserved for configuration mode. Is that correct?

• Assuming that previous question is correct, would deploying a modem designated for configuration mode (always set for PAN id 7BCD) and then having another modem designated for sensor data collection on some other PAN id be an ideal setup so no data is lost?

• When a node is in configuration mode, does the encryption key still need to be the same as the modem it is going to be communicating with?

• Placing several modems around a location can help propagate signal as a repeater. Will the modem only re transmit if the data it received was on the same PAN id? Will a modem only re transmit if the encryption key on that modem is the same as the originating sensor’s encryption key?

• Wireless sensor nodes do not act as repeaters from what I understand. I see some wireless sensors have a place for hard-wired power. If a sensor is hard-wired for power and not dependent on battery power do these wireless sensor nodes then act as repeaters in this configuration?